Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

Looking Ahead

Posted by notthatkat on January 1, 2008

Happy New Year!

I hope you all had a good and safe New Year. Mine was quiet, and I was asleep before the ball dropped last night. Yes, I know I’m lame.

I never really make any big resolutions at New Year’s, but try to implement ideas and changes as they come upon me. So my plans for the start 2008 is to continue on with things I’ve been doing for a while now. I’ve lost about 20 pounds over the last few months, simply by cutting back on what I eat. I’d like to continue this trend.

On the fiber front, I am adopting much the same attitude. Knitting from my stash will continue for the foreseeable future. I don’t follow strict rules, and if I find myself needing yarn for a project that nothing in my stash is quite right for, I’ll go buy it. (My nephew has asked for felted slippers, and while I have one of the colors we discussed in my stash, I will probably have to shop outside my stash to coordinate a second color.) However as I decided this fall, my stash is (still) far too large, and full of very good yarns just waiting their turn. Buying more right now is unnecessary.

Socks will certainly continue in the rotation. I opted not to join Rockin’ Sock Club for 2008, in part because I still have 4 of my 2007 kits untouched. One of these might be next after the current sock. Likewise, I dropped out of Yarn Pirate’s Booty Club after the December shipment. The yarns are beautiful, but I have not managed to knit with a single one yet. Fear not for my sock knitting, however, as I believe I have more than enough sock yarn to see me through the year even if I don’t buy a single skein, which is doubtful. I have a Kitri sock kit waiting in the wings. I was hoping to do another pair of Math Whiz socks, this time for me, as well as knitting another pair of Rococo to replace the pair that felted, and a couple other of Anne’s sock patterns I haven’t worked with yet. There are other patterns and ideas kicking around in there, including a few design ideas.

Lace will certainly be featured in 2008 as well. I have some handspun yarn just waiting to be turned into a Swallowtail Shawl. I have a deep love for Juno Regina and Icarus, neither of which I’ve knitted yet. And from Anne, I have Twinings and Irtfa’a and Cluaranach, and I could go on and I know she will have released 2-3 new patterns I love by the time I’ve managed to get one of these done.

On the sweater front, I do have a couple patterns picked out to follow my Thermal. Next up will probably be the Elizabeth Bennet Cardigan from Fitted Knits. This sweater called to me the first time I saw it, and I’ve already swatched it up. Also ready to go is a T-twist Tee as well as a tank top from Knitting Nature, but these will probably wait for warmer weather to get started. I also want to do a Rogue, and I think I have yarn in my stash that will work for it. I like Sesame, but the yarn I want to use is thicker than what’s called for. I might try to re-work the pattern for the yarn I have. I have several stashed yarns in shell to sweater quantities that I just need to find or create patterns for.

I’m sure there will be small projects and other ideas along the way as well. I’m not sure how many of these projects I’ll actually get around to, but these are the ones that I’m tossing around in the back of my mind at the moment.

On the spinning front, I joined NaSpiMoMo (National Spin More Month) which kicked off today. My goals are to spin every day, even if only for a little bit some days, and finish my lace weight yarn for Spun Stitches. Anything I get done beyond that in January is a bonus. Beyond that, I don’t have specific plans, as I tend to just pick out something from the stash that appeal to me at the time and work on that. Overall, I would like to spin more often, and learn some new techniques (long draw especially). And I’d like to do more spinning with intention – ie. with a clearer idea of what qualities I want in a yarn rather that seeing what I get and deciding what to do with it based on that. And on that note, I’m off to spin for tonight.

Leave a Reply

 
