Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

2007 in Review

Posted by notthatkat on December 31, 2007

(For details on all my FO’s for 2007, check out the FO 2007 page. Links from this post lead to pictures for the most part)

So as the door closes on 2007, I wanted to take a moment and review what I’ve accomplished, fiber arts wise, over the year. Since I only started blogging in late April, I’m afraid that’s as far back as my record goes. I know I knit prior to that, but frankly, I’m having trouble remembering the specifics. I know there were some socks and other small items, but for the life of me, I couldn’t tell you without checking out the sock drawer if my life depended on it. So…

Since April I have completed 32 knit items, not counting a couple dishcloths that didn’t quite make it onto the blog. Eleven of these came in the form of socks, including my first hand spun socks, 2 (of 6) of the Rockin’ Sock Club kits for 2007, Math Whiz socks for my Sockapalooza Pal (I also got a great pair of socks from my upstream Pal) and assorted other socks as a yarn or pattern struck a chord with me. I also designed and published my first sock pattern (hopefully not my last), and so far the reception has been very favorable.

I also knit four pair of fingerless mitts and a pair of fingerless gloves. All of them were different, and I loved making each of them. All but one pair now belong with various loved ones, and I hope they help keep them warm through the winter months.

Several long smoldering UFO’s got finished over the year. Some were part of the crazy 5-day-in-a-row FO marathon in June (what was I thinking?), but the one I’m proudest of is the christening blanket. Not for nothing did my friend Christine rename it “monster lace.”

I made two shells and a winter sweater over the course of the year (I know I didn’t manage a sweater before April). There was a flurry of Christmas knitting. I chose to stick with accessories and other little knits for Christmas presents, and everyone loved what I made them.

All in all it was a good year for knitting for me. The spinning… I am not, and doubt I will ever be, a production spinner. My output in finished yarn is sporadic at best. That being said, I do think my spinning has improved dramatically over the last year, and I have taken on some challanges and big projects on the spinning front. I am pleased with my progress as a spinner.

Coming up tomorrow, my fiber plans for the New Year.

Leave a Reply

 
