Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

*Cough, cough, wheeze, hack*

Posted by notthatkat on December 7, 2007

I woke up Tuesday morning  and there was no denying – I am sick.  Nothing serious, I think, but rather than the typical head cold this has manifested as a sore throat and cough.  Most of the week has been spent just getting by – I spent most of my day off in bed, and the rest of the time it’s pretty much been work and bed.

I have managed to get some knitting done, as I sit or lie in bed and watch TV and count down until I can take more cold medicine.

Branching Out

I managed to get the Branching Out scarf I made for my sister done on Wednesday, although I didn’t manage to get it blocked until this evening.

Branching Out Center

I worked both sides out from a central provisional cast on, rather than working it end to end as the pattern calls for.   I love how it came out, and may have to make this one again.

Branching Out Close

One more picture, because who can resist the magic of blocking? The yarn is Knit Picks Shadow in Lost Lake, a lovely deep heathered green.  I knit this on 4.0 mm (US6) needles rather than the 5.0 mm (US8) called for in the pattern, since I was using laceweight yarn rather than DK.  The scarf ended up being 5″ wide by 64″ long, which I think is quite a respectable length for a lace scarf.

Anyone in my Fiber Guild who doesn’t want to ruin the surprise for the Yankee Trade Sunday best look away now…

They gone?

Good.

Next I knit a couple dishcloths to be used as part of my Yankee Trade gift on Sunday.  I’ll add a couple bars of home made soap to these and will feel good about my contribution to the gift exchange.

Lacy Dishcloth

This is the first one I knit and I like it so much, I just may have to knit one for myself.

Lattice Discloth

Next I knit up this one.  It has a neat little double lattice, and the texture will make it good for dishes, but the pattern is a bit fussy and I didn’t love knitting it.  I’m not sure this one’s gonna get repeated any time soon.  Both of these are knit in Sugar n Cream on 5.0 mm (US8) needles.  I’ll find pattern links and put them up when I update my FO page (soon, but not tonight).

As if that weren’t enough, I cast on a pair of felted clogs for my Dad for Christmas.

Unfelted Clog

The first one has been completed, but not yet felted.  Although I didn’t include anything in the picture for scale, believe me when I say it’s ginormous.  If I hadn’t felted a fair bit already, including several pairs of slippers, I would be leery about these shrinking enough to fit.  But I have confidence.  The second clog is barely started, but these are a quick knit so I’m not too worried.

Didya see the smoke ring in the new Knitty?  My Mom might just be getting one of these for Christmas it I don’t run out of time (otherwise, her birthday is in February).  I’m going stash diving tonight, then on a bead hunt after work tomorrow.  Now I’m off to see how well I can knit clogs on narcotic cough syrup.

3 Responses to “*Cough, cough, wheeze, hack*”

  1. Alice said

    10 points for blocking in surgery…nice.

    add’l 10 points for throwing in the 5 minute consult!

    Nice work and looking good!

  2. Ria said

    I find Branching Out to be a fun lace pattern. Simple, but not so simple that I can do without thinking about it. Yours turned out looking really nice!

  3. Donna said

    Hmmm…those pins you used for blocking remind me of my old days in the hospital lab! :) What lots of pretty knitted things you have going on, Kat.

    Sorry to hear you’ve been sick. Hope you are feeling much better soon. Emily has been sick, too, with something similar. She seems to be feeling better today, thank goodness. Mid-terms start on Tuesday, and I hate for her to go into those ill.

Leave a Reply

 
