Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

Where Does the Time Go?

Posted by notthatkat on December 3, 2007

Sorry for appearing to fall of the edge of the earth recently.  I’ve been busy, busy and haven’t spent much time online at all.  First there was the holiday (Hope those of you in the US had a happy one), then my camera went AWOL.  Plus I’ve been working on a little project I’m not ready to go public with at this time.  (and since such phrasing seems to be practically code in the knit blogosphere – NO, I am not pregnant.  That’s all I’m saying about that.)  There has been some knitting accomplished, although not as much as I would have liked.  As I said – busy.

Pirate Hat

I finished the Pirate Hat for my nephew a couple weeks ago.  I had to sew the lining down twice, as the first time it came out wonky.  The second time did the trick.  I love this hat, and am seriously wondering if making myself one would lower the coolness factor of the hat for Patrick.  He’s 14, so seeing someone his parents’ age wear something might automatically lower the cool level, but I am the “cool” aunt, after all.

Fractal Handspun Project

I also finished spinning and plying my fractal yarn last week.  It’s a bit overspun in places (not usually an issue for me), but overall I’m pleased with it.  I like how the colors blend, and the yellow doesn’t seem too overwhelming in the skein.  I’m looking forward to seeing how it knits up.

Thermal

I decided to work my Thermal sleeves at the same time, using Magic Loop  I have re-figured both the increases and the cap shaping for my smaller row gauge.  They are about a third of the way to the underarms, and so far so good.   I’m still loving this project, but it’s about to go back burner to make way for gift knitting.

Bee Fields

My Bee Fields is almost halfway through the Bee in Field section, which is the last section before the edging.  The rows are very long now, so I don’t tend to get many done at a time.  I consider 3-4 rows in an evening to be good progress.  Ditto the back burner comment for this one as well.

Merino Lace Socks

My Merino Lace socks have managed to get past the heel despite languishing in my Go Knit pouch most of the time and getting very little action.  But when I do work on them, they are tough to put down.  The temptation to keep adding just one more row/round is strong in these.  I had a bit of a situation when I reached the heel only to discover I had dropped a stitch in one of the lace sections a couple inches back.  I tried several times to drop back that section and work it back up, only to have it come out wrong every single time.  Finally I bit the bullet, put the error free sock on a spare pair of needles and ripped back the offending sock to before the mistake(about 2 repeats of the wide lace panel) and reknit those couple inches.  Okay, all things considered, I guess I’ve made a lot of progress on these socks.

Merino Lace Socks

I deviated from my usual preference of short row heels and followed the directions which carries the lace motifs down the heel flap.  I don’t think I’ll ever be a big fan of flap and gusset heels, but in this case, I like the effect.

Branching Out

I cast on Branching Out for my sister on Friday night.   I decided to start from the center with a provisional cast on and work both sides out so they would be symmetrical.  It’s about 2/3 done, with 12 more pattern repeats to go.

Branching Out

It has practically flown off the needles with very little effort on my part.  The yarn is some Knit Picks Shadow that has been marinating in my stash for a while.  I debated long and hard about lengthening it, but decided to go with the number of repeats directed in the pattern.  I know it will grow once blocked, and don’t really think it would look good super long.  Once blocked, I think it will probably go about 4 1/2 to 5 feet, a nice length to tuck under the collar of a dressy coat.

I plan to make felted clogs for both my parents, and possibly something for my brother-in-law (not sure what, but I’m considering options), but overall, my gift knitting for this year in not very ambitious.  Oh, and I need to come up with something fiber related for my fiber guild’s gift exchange this weekend.  It must be fiber related, and has a  $10 price cap.  Right now, I got nothin’.  I’m considering banging out a couple dish/wash cloths and wrapping that up with some soap.  I’ve had a couple other thoughts, but that’s the leader right now.

One Response to “Where Does the Time Go?”

  1. Donna said

    Loving the pirate hat! Isn’t that a cool pattern? I want to do another one in black and white and with different yarn. I wasn’t at all pleased with the Telemark used in my hat. Also…go ahead and make yourself one. You are definitely cool enough to pull off that look!

Leave a Reply

 
