Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

SAFF Inspired

Posted by notthatkat on November 12, 2007

Thermal

I finished the back of my Thermal on Saturday and started on the right front piece.  I’m doing the armhole shaping now, and I think when that is done, it will be about the right point to start my (raised) neckline shaping.

The Bee has been a bit of 2 steps forward, 1 step back.  I found a mistake, tried to fix it without tinking, which was unsuccessful, then had to tink back about 2 rows to undo the original mistake and all I had messed up trying to fix it.  Any problems I’ve had executing this pattern are my fault and not the pattern’s.  It’s back on track again, but doesn’t look much different than the last time I posted photos, so I’m not posting a new one.  Really, I only managed to add a couple rows to it over the weekend.

Merino Lace Sock

On Friday night I cast on a pair of Merino Lace socks from Favorite Socks.  These were inspired by Mean Girl, who was working on a lovely orange one when I saw her at SAFF.  I had already decided I wanted to knit a pair of these, but seeing them up close and in person just pushed them higher on the list.  The pattern is lovely and easily memorized/learned, but there is a bit of errata in the foot chart.  It’s pretty obvious and I had already figured it out on my own, but check it out before you knit these.

Pirate Hat

Then yesterday morning I cast on for a Pirate Hat.  I started this hat earlier in the year, only to find that my gauge was so far off, no one over the age of 3 could comfortably wear it.  I frogged it, but the needles I needed to go up to were occupied at the time, and I never got around to starting it again.  Then the first time I saw Donna at SAFF, she was putting the finishing touches on one of these, and I thought, oh, yeah, I really should get started on that again.  And won’t it make a great Christmas present for my nephew?

Merino Silk Hand Spun

There was also some spinning and plying this weekend, as I finished the yarn I started spinning at SAFF.   It is so nummy, I can hardly stand it.  Everyone who saw it commented on the colors, and I completely agree.  The colors are rich and complex and subtle.

Merino Silk Hand Spun

I started with 4 oz of roving and I wound up with about 375 yards of fingering  to sport weight yarn (once it’s dry, I’ll check WPI in a few areas, for now, you get my best estimate.)  I do have one more yarn I want to spin before I go back to the endless lace weight.  It’s a dyeing experiment that I have high hopes for.  I think I’ll pre-draft some tonight.

One Response to “SAFF Inspired”

  1. Jen said

    Love your socks! :)

Leave a Reply

 
