Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

Maine Morning Mitts

Posted by notthatkat on November 7, 2007

Maine Morning Mitts

I finished the Maine Morning Mitts this afternoon. These were a good quick knit, and the fact that it took me almost 3 weeks to finish them is a function of how sporadically I worked on them. They fit me well, so they should fit my niece, who is getting them for Christmas. They are knit in 2X1 ribbing, which is very forgiving of variation in gauge and make the mitts very form fitting over varying widths.

Maine Morning Mitts

The yarn is Sheep Shop Sheep 1, a medium weight wool single. This was my first time knitting with this yarn, and I bought a single ball to try it out. My only complaint about the yarn was there was a fair bit of straw and shavings and other vegetable matter that needed to be picked out as I knit. It wasn’t too bad for a single skein project, but I would think the annoyance factor of this would become too much on a larger project, for me at least.

Thermal

I’ve made fairly good progress on my Thermal. I reached the armholes Monday night, and now I’m about half way done with the upper back. This project is starting to feel a bit home streatchy, and I have to keep reminding myself that I still have two whole sleeves to go once I get done with the body…

Thermal Front

…not to mention the rest of the front. But I’m pleased with the progress I’m making, especially considering the small gauge, and the fact that I’ve been a bit distracted, knitting wise:

Bee Fields

I sat down Monday night with my Bee Fields to figure out where I went wrong last week. It turns out that I had missed a yarn over in the transition zone on one long side. I’m not sure what I did on the other side, but it was completely my error while trying to establish the new pattern stitch. I picked up the missed yarn over, placed a stitch marker between every pattern repeat, and found it all worked out quite well, once I was out of a moving car and able to fully focus on the problem at hand.

Bee Fields

The joy of this project is back, and I find myself having trouble putting this down once I’ve started. I’m about half way through the bee swarm section. The rows are starting to get really long, so it takes me a while to get much length added. This pattern is worked from the center top out (much like Icarus and Swallowtail and several others) and I presume the provisional cast on will get grafted to itself at some point. I find it hard to read too far ahead for big complicated lace pattern, preferring to take it one step at a time.

I’m mulling my next small/mindless project. Might just cast on for some socks tonight or tomorrow (you knew I wouldn’t stay away for long, right?) but I’m not sure what yarn and pattern I want to do next. But I also have a hat I want to make for my nephew for Christmas, as well as some felted clogs. Decisions, decisions.

2 Responses to “Maine Morning Mitts”

  1. Donna said

    Someone has been a busy knitter! The mits are my favorite in this post. That yarn is just so pretty. It reminds me of some Manos that I have stashed.

  2. jenjerpeach said

    your thermal rocks! i’m around the same point and i get happy until i, as well, realize that i have two sleeves to do. i’ll finish them just the saem way i did the body: ugly betty, the office & ER. the body was finished before i even knew it!

Leave a Reply

 
