Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

Let It Snow, Let It Snow!

Posted by notthatkat on October 18, 2007

WordPress ate my first draft of this, just as I was ready to publish. I hate when that happens!

Snow on Cedars Mitts

I finished my Snow on Cedars Mitts last night. I love them so much. I have to say, these were a bit of a challange. Not hard, per se, but there’s a lot going on, and you really have to pay attention to what you’re doing. I hope this doesn’t scare anyone off, because they really are fabulous, and Anne has done her usual outstanding job with the pattern. Everything you need is in there and if you follow the instructions, you shouldn’t have too many problems. Just don’t plan on these for social knitting group or mindless TV/multitask knitting.

I sent my latest (and probably last) set of revisions to Anne this afternoon, but since she left for Rhinebeck this morning, I don’t expect to hear much from her until next week. And speaking of fiber festivals, mine is coming up next weekend and I’m getting really excited! I’m looking forward to meeting up with so many friends both old and new, and my class, and just the unique atmosphere of a good fiber festival.

Snow on Cedars Mitts

The Specs:

Pattern: Snow on Cedars Mitts by Anne Hanson, soon to be released in pattern and kit form (and since I’ve already been asked, I don’t know exactly when Anne is planning to publish this)

Yarn: Hand dyed Merino/Nylon fingering – they used a bit over a third of a 100 g skein. I was afraid the variegation in the yarn would fight with the pattern – I even had a Plan B solid yarn picked out, but I don’t think it would have looked so good.

Needles: 2.75 mm (US2) 5″ Brittany Birch DPN’s – this pattern could not easily have been worked on 2 circs. Maybe Magic Loop-ing, but definitely only one at a time.

Started: October 14, 2007

Finished: October 17, 2007

Modifications: None

My Clapotis is back to center stage, and should be finished by tomorrow night, with blocking taking place over the weekend.

My October Booty Club shipment arrived today, (don’t follow the link if you don’t want to be spoiled) and while I doubt I would have picked out these colors for myself, I love them so much. Since no new yarn has entered my home in just over a month, I’m trying to decide if that is upping the yarn love factor, but overall, I just think Georgia rocks!

ETA: WordPress bug seems to be fixed.  If the edits take here, I’m deleting the link post. 

3 Responses to “Let It Snow, Let It Snow!”

  1. MissyJoon said

    I love your mitts, and I can’t wait to knit them myself! Yours provide me with a good frame of reference!

  2. carolynh said

    They are even more awesome in person!! Glad to have gotten to meet you at SAFF, yesterday.

    Happy Knitting,

    Carolyn

  3. Donna said

    I second what Carolyn said. The mitts are just gorgeous in person!

    It was great spending time with you this weekend at SAFF.

Leave a Reply

 
