Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

Playing in the Dye Pot Again

Posted by notthatkat on September 25, 2007

This weekend, while hanging out with one of my knitting friends, I came up with an idea of what to do with the partial leftover ball which the dogs chewed on.  I have about 280 yards/32 grams left, not much of anything, really, but I have an idea….

The first step was dyeing.

Teal Laceweight

I was going for a shaded solid similar to the teal green sections of my current hand dyed sock yarn.  I love the result.  Now I have to fit the next step (the knitting) into my queue.  After the blanket is finished (4 1/2 repeats to go, I should finish tonight!)  And perhaps a few other things.

Of course, this led to the need for more dyeing, which you should expect from me by now.  I can’t seem to stop with just one.

Raspberry

This is not nearly so shockingly hot pink as it appears in this picture, more of a medium raspberry.  Again it is a shaded solid.  This is a full skein at 880 yards/100 g.  Enough for a decent sized project.  I have one more full skein of this yarn as well as about half of my current ball that I will probably be playing around with this dyeing technique.  The question is whether to dye them separately and have enough for a scarf and a small to medium shawl, or to dye them at the same time and have enough for a fairly large project (although not as large as the blanket.)

Then there’s all the undyed fiber in the stash….

Leave a Reply

 
