Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

Lace Tragedy

Posted by notthatkat on September 14, 2007

I worked on my blanket over my lunch break today, and I had to walk away from it for a wee bit to check on patients.  I left it on the break room table, well away from the edge, where I thought it would be safe.  When I got back, I found it on the floor with two puppies standing over it.  I quickly separated puppies from knitting and accessed the damage:

Yarn Pile

This was what remained of my yarn ball which had been broken or chewed about 2 feet from my last stitches.  I carefully detangled and rerolled, but had to discard about 1/4 of the remaining yarn in the ball because it was in many, many pieces.  I wasn’t sure I would make it through the edging with my current ball of yarn, so I already have another ball wound and standing by.  I’ll probably work from that next so I can minimize joins.

Needle end

This is one needle end – the one furthest away from where I’m attaching the edging.

 Needle end

The other end of the needle was even worse, especially as it was no longer attached to the cord!

MacGyver Solution

The edging stitches were pulled off the remaining cord end, and I had to get MacGyver creative to salvage it before major unraveling started.  My solution – an unfolded paper clip to hold the edge stitches.

Unfortunately, I don’t have another circular needle in this size in my possession.  Fortunately, I should be able to find a suitable replacement at my LYS tomorrow after work.  I’m not sure I can find the same length (80 cm IIRC), but if I can find the right diameter (2.5 mm) in a shorter length, I can probably make it work.

The good news is that the blanket itself doesn’t seem to have suffered any significant damage, and loose stitches have been secured until I have a replacement needle.

In the meantime, I’ll be working on the long neglected Cable-Down Raglan.

One Response to “Lace Tragedy”

  1. ladyoftheloom said

    Oh, my.

    I had a cat once that chewed my needles, may he rest in peace. And he chewed the hands of the Barbies at my house. My older daughter (to whom the dolls belonged) didn’t get angry, just called them handicapped Barbies. And he dragged a little sample bag of cat food behind the sofa to munch on when he wanted some.

Leave a Reply

 
