Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

Tour de Fleece Day 3

Posted by notthatkat on July 9, 2007

Midnight Blues

I’ve gotten off to a very strong start on Tour de Fleece. I spun the second half of my Midnight Blues Roving and plied it. My love affair with this roving/yarn continues.

Midnight Blues

I got just over 500 yards out of about 3 grams of wool. I think this is destined to be a Swallowtail Shawl. I feel my spinning is improving with every skein I spin, and I am have made so much improvement in the last six months. This was supposed to be my “practice” yarn for Spun Stitches, but I’ve pretty much spun a (small) shawl’s worth of yarn in a true lace weight. Not that I won’t still do spin up the other roving I planned to use for its original intended purpose. Hopefully I can get enough yardage out of it for a bigger shawl or stole.

Original Design Socks

The socks were not neglected with all the spinning; they are getting close to needing heels. I’m still loving the pattern, both the knitting and the look of it. The curves and arcs make it look very organic.

Mystery Stole

I managed to tear myself away from my obsessive devotion to my socks to finish off the first clue on my Mystery Stole and about 10 rows on clue 2. The beads don’t show up well in the picture, but I think they really add a lot to the stole. I am trying to stay mostly caught up on this one. We’ll see if I can keep that up once things get crazy in August.

One Response to “Tour de Fleece Day 3”

  1. ladyoftheloom said

    Very nice spinning!
    Alice

Leave a Reply

 
