Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

Dish Rag Tag

Posted by notthatkat on June 25, 2007

When I signed up for Dish Rag Tag, there was a box to click if you wanted to be a team captain. I clicked it, mostly because I know people willing to assume leadership roles in most any group activity can be hard to come by. Shortly before the teams were announced Friday, I found out that I have been named a team captain. I think this one will be a blast, and those members of my team who have shown up on the forum are already plotting strategies. Not everyone has shown up there, but it’s early yet. If you’re on my team, please stop by our team fourm (you should have gotten email with a link) and let us know you’re there and are still planning on racing with us.

My primary goal for this… exchange?… KAL?… race is to have fun with it. I will be test knitting a cloth to make sure my chosen pattern meets the required dimensions and to work out any glitches that might arise. Do you think my Sockapalooza pal might like a knitted wash/dish cloth as a wee extra giftie? If so, does her stated color preferences extend to housewares?

Pehuèn back

The back of my Pehuèn shell got a fair bit of attention last night. Soon I’ll be shaping the neck.

Embossed Leaves ribbing

The Embossed Leaves aren’t much further along than yesterday. One might assume they weren’t worked on at all. One would be wrong. In fact I finished the ribbing, started the lace pattern and got almost half way through the first repeat when I realized I had two extra stitches on one sock, hidden in what at that point was a stockinette section. As near as I figured, I must have cast on two extra stitches and not realized it. I could have continued on with the sock that had the right number of stitches and worked the other one later but… I didn’t like the cast on, which I now know was not what Mona used or intended. (She has a good tutorial for the correct tutorial on her blog. I was impatient and while I must learn it, now is not the time and these are not the socks. )

I had planned to pick out the tops of these socks and rework them after I was done. But since I had to frog one, I would be left with the choice of repeating the cast on that I knew was wrong and would have to be fixed later, casting on the second sock and hoping I could rig the first one to more or less match, or frog them both and start over. Guess which one I picked?

I am about 2/3 of the way through the ribbing for the second time. From what I got done of the lace before I frogged them, me like. I’ve lost track of how many times I’ve counted stitches on both socks this time around.

New Knitting Bag

Shortly after Christmas, I bought myself a new knitting bag from a popular company who makes such bags. It was not a cheap bag, even on sale, but I was looking to treat myself, and hoping to get a good long life out of it. Imagine my disappointment when said bag started literally coming apart at the seams after less than 6 months usage. I’m not naming names, as I feel my dissatisfaction should be conveyed directly and privately. This is my new knitting bag. It was bought on clearance ($20) at the local craft store. It is made of heavy canvas and was manufactured by the same company that made the backpack/bookbag that got me through 4 years of undergrad, 4 years of veterinary school and countless craft shows, festivals, and conventions before finally being retired a few years ago. I’m hoping this one will last me a while.

2 Responses to “Dish Rag Tag”

  1. Colleen said

    Sweet bag! is the inside light or dark colored?

    I wanna be a vet when I grow up! so cool!

  2. melinda said

    Too bad about having to frog the socks.
    I love the colour of your new knitting bag.
    So bright and such a great price. I love deals.

Leave a Reply

 
