Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

FO – Math Whiz Socks

Posted by notthatkat on June 24, 2007

Math Whiz Socks

My Sockapalooza‘s Pal’s socks are done. I’ve modeled them on my own feet, since they look so much better that way (Not to worry, Pal, they’re enjoying a bath as we speak.) and her foot measurements were very close to my own. I love these socks! This will probably surprise no one who knows me well, as my love for Anne’s patterns is strong and frequently vocalized. The yarn and the pattern just work fabulously together, and even though they were Plan B, they came out as good as if not better than what I had in mind to start (although I will come back to the Plan A pattern just not with that yarn eventually).

Math Whiz Socks

There’s no ribbing on the cuff, you go straight to the pattern stitch; yet, they don’t curl or slouch, at least on me. I think there’s enough elasticity in the stitch pattern as well as an even enough distribution of knits and purls to make it work.

Math Whiz Socks

I also love how different the yarn looks in the knit and purl sections versus the stockinette. I’ll definitely be making this one again.

Specs:
Pattern: Math Whiz Sock by Anne Hanson
Yarn: Fleece Artist Merino in the colorway Mermaid
(procured from Simply Socks)
Needles: 2.75 mm (US2) 2 socks/2 circs per my usual
Modifications: No significant ones. I substituted the short row heel in the pattern for my preferred short row heel, as that’s the one I’m most comfortable with.

Since it is Summer of Socks, and since I am me, I have, of course cast on my next pair.

Embossed Leaves ribbing

While they are still at the ribbing stage, they will eventually become Embossed Leaves. The replacement for the Plan A yarn arrived a couple weeks ago. While there was one flaw in it, it was fairly close to one end, so I can work around it pretty easily. It’s still so much better than what I started with.

Pehuén back

The back of my Pehuén shell got a fair bit of love this weekend. When I took this picture earlier today(while I still had light) it was ready for the armscythe shaping. It’s a bit further now.

Pehuén Stockinette

When I got this yarn, I knew between the colors and the texture of the yarn, I needed a simple stitch pattern and clean lines, or it would be just too much and in conflict. But when I swatched, the stockinette side just didn’t do much for me. It still doesn’t. But flip it over:

Pehuén Reverse Stockinette

LOVE! Deep strong abiding love. I think reverse stockinette shows of the texture of the yarn to its best advantage.

Butch

Did you lose this dog? He was found running along the highway in front of my hospital a couple weeks ago. His owners have until the end of this week, then I’m heartworm testing him, vaccinating him, neutering him and finding him a good home (we have several leads already). He is young (a year give or take by my estimate), playful, friendly, and didn’t look like he’d been fending for himself for too long when we found him. We’ve named him Butch.

5 Responses to “FO – Math Whiz Socks”

  1. adrienne said

    Your socks came out great!!!!

  2. melinda said

    very pretty

  3. Emma said

    Congrats on finishing the socks! They look great.

  4. […] crochet socks that were started before SOS began. She is almost done and they are looking great. Not That Kat has finished her sockopolooza socks that were started before SOS began. Kat immediately casted on […]

  5. bookwoman said

    Lucky sock pal! I love the stitch pattern on your socks, and the fact that you don’t need any ribbing at the top. That’s cool. I’m also gald to see that I’m not the only one who sometimes prefers the “other” side of the knitting.

Leave a Reply

 
