Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

FO – Bubbly Curtains

Posted by notthatkat on June 15, 2007

So, FO week on Knitting the Light Fantastic comes to a close today.  It seems somehow right that the epic project fall at the end (and needed every bit of this last week to finish them!)

Bubbly blocking

Bubbly blocking

They were finally wired up and pinned down at about 12:30 this morning, and I got up early to unpin them, so I could get photos in daylight.  The joke was on me, because after having pretty weather in the morning followed by late afternoon and evening showers and thunderstorms all week, it decided to rain pretty much all day, and there were no pretty outdoor pictures to be taken.  I had to make do, so I enlisted some helpers with the promise not to show more than their hands.

Bubbly Curtain

The other one looks pretty much the same.  They came out beautifully, and I know my sister will love them, but honestly, if they were not a gift that she specifically picked out and knew was coming,  I probably would have frogged them long ago, and gotten her something else.  I’m glad I didn’t.

Bubbly Close up

The honkin’ huge ball o’ crochet cotton ™ is now a shadow of its former self, but it still could take down a regular ball of crochet cotton in a fair fight.

Somewhat smaller ball o' crochet cotton

I’ll post a picture of them in their new home when we get the installed in my sister’s kitchen.

Throughout the week, I’ve added a round or two here and there to my Sockapalooza pal’s socks, and lo and behold, today I found myself ready to make heels.

Math Whiz socks

The Malamute puppy at the office acquired a half sister this week.  She is almost ten weeks old, and I swear she is part goat.  She chews on anything and everything that holds still, and I have resorted to tying my shoe laces in double knots.

Vegas and Windy

They look innocent, no?  Trust me, they’re not.

And now, I’m off to work on socks and catch up on much needed sleep.

3 Responses to “FO – Bubbly Curtains”

  1. Alligator said

    Those curtains are gorgeous! They are going to look beautiful in your sister’s kitchen! She is very lucky!

    The sockpal socks are coming along great as well! I love the pattern you chose!

  2. knitwhimsies said

    Wow! Those curtains look fantastic! You have the patience of a saint to have finished them! :)

    Oh, and the puppies are just too cute. They always look so innocent when they are sleeping…

  3. becky c. said

    Epic is a good word for those curtains. That is a lot of knitting!! Your sister owes you, big time! :)

Leave a Reply

 
