Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

FO – Gimlet Socks

Posted by notthatkat on June 11, 2007

The Gimlet Socks are done!  No sooner did I turn my back, then I caught them outside catching a few rays:

Gimlet Sunning

I’m not sure how they could handle it, as the heat and humidity have both hit the red zone the past few days.  Neverless, they seemed to like it up there.  Maybe it’s the bamboo content.  I talked them down out of the tree and convinced them to pose for a good shot:

Gimlet Socks

They even agreed to do a bit of modeling with their intended wearer:

Gimlet Socks

They look a bit slouchy in this picture, but I’ve been told that the fit is perfect.

Specs:

Yarn: Scout’s Swag 60% Superwash/30% Bamboo/10% Nylon in the colorway Gimlet

Pattern: No pattern per se, but I did use this one for guidelines on doing thong toes on toe up socks.  Otherwise, straignt stockinette, short row heels, 1 1/2 inch of K2/P2 ribbing
Needles: 2.5mm (US1.5) for toe sections and 2.75mm (US2)  for the remainder.

I started socks for my Sockapalooza pal on Friday, and have managed 1 1/5 repeats of the pattern.  I think the recommended 2 1/2 repeats for the leg will be about right.

Math Whiz socks

The yarn is Fleece Artist Merino and the pattern is Math Whiz socks by Anne.  I am loving how these are looking so far, and I hope my pal loves them as much as I do.

Close up of Math Whiz socks

BTW, the summer Knitty is up.  Go see.

I gave, did you?

Brothers

“Whoa, man, what happened?”

“I dunno, but I suddenly feel much lighter in the rear.”

Leave a Reply

 
