Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

Spun Stitches KAL

Posted by notthatkat on June 7, 2007

Last weekend I joined the Spun Stitches KAL. The goal is to spin and knit a shawl. I am cross posting my first post there here as well, minus the intro stuff.  Nothing like recycling your own material

I’ve been spinning for almost two years, and I tend to spin on the fine side naturally. I’ve been working my way down and have finally spun a true laceweight that I’m happy with. When I found this KAL, the timing couldn’t have been better.

My Hardware:


My Louet S51 wheel, for which I just ordered a high speed flyer/bobbin set. Spinning for this project will wait for it’s arrival.

My software:

I’ve got 4 ounces of Merino/Tencel roving from Chasing Rainbows Dyeworks in the colorway Purple Haze. This photo doesn’t show off the colors all that well, but it is a lovely subtle blend of deep purple and grey that I just adore.

But wait, there’s more.
This is my first laceweight that I spun over the winter. It is bluefaced leicester from Dry Creek Naturals (sadly, without website) It has a subtle varigation of fibers: while predominately a blue green, there is yellow and purple and grey as well. I have approximately 400 yards of it at 26 wpi and need to find a project for it.

I am strongly considering the Swallowtail Shawl from IK Fall 2006, but am a bit concerned about yardage. The pattern calls for one skein of Misty Lace Alpaca which has 437 yards. I have 400 yards, give or take. I’ve perused around the blogosphere and have yet to determine whether I have enough yarn. Does anyone know how much actual yardage this pattern requires? I hate the thought that I could get down to the end and run out. Any pattern suggestions for a small shawl or scarf that I could execute with this yardage?

Leave a Reply

 
