Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

FO – Undulating Rib Socks

Posted by notthatkat on May 17, 2007

These socks just flew off the needles. I was surprised to find out how little the uneven nature of my handspun yarn impacted the sock when it was knitted up. This might be more of a factor in a solid or more subtly variegated yarn, but it was a complete non-issue with these socks.

Midnight Hour Socks

The ribbing gives it just the right amount of cling. They are soft and squishy, and everything a hand spun hand knit sock should be. They are the same length, although they don’t look it in the picture above. They are decidedly fraternal, as I knew they would be.

A close-up of the ribbing pattern:

Pattern – Undulating Rib Socks from Favorite Socks.

Yarn – Hand spun 2 ply average 16wpi from Crown Mountain Farms Sock Hop roving (superwash merino) in the colorway Midnight Hour

Modifications: worked toe up with Judy’s Magic Cast-On and short row heel.

I had this much yarn left after weaving in all my ends:

Midnight Hour Leftovers

Cutting it kind of close, but I got socks of respectable length out of 4 ounces of roving.

I got my order from Scout the other day:

Yarn from Scout

On the bottom left is Van Gogh in superwash/nylon

On the bottom right is Hokies in superwash/nylon

On top is Gimlet in bamboo/superwash/nylon

For my next sock project, I am making a friend thong toe socks out of the Gimlet colorway. I thought it especially fitting for Project Spectrum this month.

One Response to “FO – Undulating Rib Socks”

  1. Emilee said

    Those are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

 
