Knitting the Light Fantastic

Knitting, spinning, dyeing and other crafty goodness

FO – Dreamswatch Head Wrap

Posted by notthatkat on May 9, 2007

Our story starts at SAFF 2006. In the heady atmosphere of wool and alpaca fumes, I found lovely 2 oz rovings of Merino/Tencel blend from Chasing Rainbows Dyeworks at the Earthguild booth. Choosing from all the lovely colors was difficult, but I finally settled on Juniper Berry, a lovely yet somewhat eccentric blend of bright pink, deep spruce green and a lighter olive green. I split the roving in half lengthwise and spun fine singles. The singles were plied and the resulting yarn began with very pure separation of color, but further in, the colors were much more blended. The final yarn was a light DK weight, and I knew I had created something special (unfortunately I didn’t take pictures of the yarn all skeined up.

I searched high and low for the right pattern for my ~200 yards of very special handspun. Finally, I settled on the DreamSwatch Head Wrap by Wendy Bernard. As I knit it up, I knew I had made the right choice. I finished the knitting a couple weeks ago, but didn’t get around to blocking until last weekend.

DreamSwatch Blocking

I unpinned it and fell in love all over again:

DreamSwatch

DreamSwatch Closeup

I can decide which color(s) are dominant based on how I wear it:

Green

Green Dreamswatch

Pink

Pink

(As I’m typing this, part of me wants to start yelling, “Green!” “Purple!” “Green!” Fifty bonus points to anyone that gets the reference)

Leave a Reply

 
